Recreation

The City of Iqaluit is committed to enhancing the quality of life for all Iqalummuit. Iqaluit offers a wide range of exciting recreation opportunities. Sport organizations, cultural groups, businesses, not-for-profit societies and service clubs all work closely with the department to ensure that the recreational needs of our community are met.

A complete listing of community programs, groups and events is available through the Recreation Activity Guide. The guide is published each year and is available at City Hall and the Recreation Department Reception Centre. It can also be downloaded here. (English, French, Inuktitut).

We understand that from time to time, you may need to cancel your involvement in our programs.  Please click here for information on our refund policy

Like us on  Recreation's Facebook Page and join our active network by signing up for our Recreation e-newsletter.

Please click on the Facility link to the right of this page for more information about what's happening at each of our facilities!

The administration office for the Recreation Department is in the Arctic Winter Games Complex located on the Apex Road. General inquiries, facility bookings and related recreational services are coordinated through this office.  The office is open Monday to Friday. 1:00-5:30pm, excepting holidays. Please see contact list below for more information.

Contacts

Iqaluit Aquatic Centre

email: aquaticcentre@city.iqaluit.nu.ca
phone: (867) 975-8544

Recreation Guest Services Associate (AWG)
email: recreation@city.iqaluit.nu.ca
phone: (867)979-5611

Kevan Nelson - Recreation Programmer
email: k.nelson@city.iqaluit.nu.ca
phone: (867) 979-5627

Brittany Masson- Recreation Program Coordinator
email: b.masson@city.iqaluit.nu.ca
phone: (867) 975-8508

Conor Goddard- Youth Coordinator
email:c.goddard@city.iqaluit.nu.ca
phone: (867) 979-5620

Josie Simonek- Youth Programmer
email: j.simonek@city.iqaluit.nu.ca
phone: (867) 975-5620

Aimee Stoyles - Fitness Centre Coordinator
email: a.stoyles@city.iqaluit.nu.ca
phone: (867) 975-8529

Todd Gardner - Facilities Coordinator
email: t.gardner@city.iqaluit.nu.ca
phone: (867) 979-5618

Stephanie Clark - Recreation Services Manager
email: s.clark@city.iqaluit.nu.ca
phone: (867) 975-8532

Amy Elgersma - Director of Recreation
phone: (867) 979-5611 Reception
phone:(867) 979-5616 Direct
email: a.elgersma@city.iqaluit.nu.ca